TVO's Short Doc Contest 2019

Congratulations to the winners!

We received many short documentaries from filmmakers all over Ontario. They were reviewed by our judges: filmmaker Astra Taylor, Hot Docs festival programmer Shane Smith, Short Doc Contest 2018 winner Sarah Gonyea, and Colin Ellis, host of TVO’s On Docs podcast.

 Additionally, our audience let their favourite be known by voting for the People’s Choice Award!

 We are so pleased to present this year’s winning short docs.​​​​​​​

First prize


Dev Ramsawakh


Second prize

Craig Forget: Reclaimed Wood Artist

Sasha Jordan Appler

  • $1,000
  • A channel-management workshop at YouTube and a private tour of the YouTube office in Toronto.
  • A one-year TIFF membership for two people
  • A one-year Hot Docs Cinema membership (Bronze)

Third prize

Do You Think You’re Beautiful?

Stella Racca


Short short winner

Manasie Akpaliapik

Shelby Lisk


People’s Choice Award

Yung Shaggy

Emma Grunwald


Prizing sponsored by